Merck Animal Health Announces $270,000 In Scholarship Support To 54 Veterinary Students Around The World

Madison, NJ - Merck Animal Health has partnered with the American Veterinary Medical Foundation (AVMF) since 2013 to provide scholarship support to hundreds of veterinary students. This year, we are pleased to announce that 54 veterinary students from around the world received scholarships through the Merck Animal Health Veterinary Student Scholarship Program. The selected second- and third-year students pursuing careers in companion animal or large animal medicine will each receive a $5,000 scholarship to support their educational endeavors.

"Veterinarians play a critical role in both caring for our companion animals and ensuring a safe and sustainable food supply," said Scott Bormann, Senior Vice President, North America, Merck Animal Health. "We are proud of our partnership with the AVMF to award these scholarships each year to deserving students around the world. We look forward to the impact they will make throughout their careers, both in the animal health industry and beyond it."

The AVMF, the charitable arm of the American Veterinary Medical Association (AVMA), has supported veterinary students for more than five decades.

"The American Veterinary Medical Foundation is so pleased to have partnered again with Merck Animal Health to recognize exceptional veterinary students through much-needed educational scholarships," said Dr. John Howe, Chair, AVMF Board of Directors. "Thanks to Merck Animal Health's generous commitment, scholarship recipients have additional resources to help them pursue their educational and professional goals and opportunities. We congratulate the outstanding 54 scholarship recipients and thank Merck Animal Health for its continued support of students and the veterinary profession."

Award recipients from U.S., Canadian and Caribbean veterinary schools accredited through the AVMA, along with select international schools, were selected based on academic excellence, financial need, leadership and area of interest within the profession. The scholarship recipients are:

Mohammad Shelim Ahmed, Bangladesh Agricultural University
Tahmina Akter, Chattogram Veterinary and Animal Sciences University
Alexander Amalfitano, Ross University
Alexandra Attenasio, Cornell University
Chloe Baker, The Ohio State University
Tonmoy Chakroborty, Chattogram Veterinary and Animal Sciences University
Kayla Chase, University of Minnesota
Jacob Crotts, University of Georgia
Siria Cruz, Oregon State University
Paola Cruz Ramos, North Carolina State University
Morgan Falk, University of Wisconsin
Emerald Ford, Mississippi State University
Emma Foxcroft, University of Calgary
Prathima Garudadri, University of California - Davis
Michelle Greenfield, Cornell University
Gregor Greer, Virginia-Maryland
Zubaida Gulshanara, Bangladesh Agricultural University
Cecelia Harmon, Virginia-Maryland
Mehedi Hasan, Bangladesh Agricultural University
Stephanie Heniff, University of Illinois
Kazi Towhidul Islam, Chattogram Veterinary and Animal Sciences University
Shiful Islam, Chattogram Veterinary and Animal Sciences University
Osman Khan, Chattogram Veterinary and Animal Sciences University
Aimee Labrie, Michigan State University
Jarif Mahmud, Chattogram Veterinary and Animal Sciences University
Shimu Moni, Chattogram Veterinary and Animal Sciences University
Jude Morton, University of Saskatchewan
Iulia Osipova, Kansas State University
Alexis Payette, University of Wisconsin
Arasta Pervin, Bangladesh Agricultural University
Allyson Quigley, Washington State University
Ana Ramirez, Western University - California
Lela Remington, Midwestern University
Siobhan Rickert, University of California - Davis
Ganga Sagar Sah, Bangladesh Agricultural University
Rachel Sanchez, University of Georgia
Jay Schaub, University of Florida
Libby Schneider, Oklahoma State University
Emily Schuurmans, Michigan State University
Danielle Scott, Colorado State University
Reshmi Sensharma, University of Pennsylvania
Younus Shajid, Chattogram Veterinary and Animal Sciences University
Shalini Shashidhara, Michigan State University
John Smith, University of Georgia
Kelsey Springer, University of Minnesota
Jose Suarez Rodriguez, Louisiana State University
Ryan Swanson, Kansas State University
Claire Takeshita, University of California - Davis
Spencer Traynham, St. George's University
Alexis Urrea, University of Wisconsin
Jillian Western, Mississippi State University
Katelyn Williams, University of Georgia
Jocosa Yasenchack, The Ohio State University
Sharuk Zaman, Bangladesh Agricultural University

Source: Merck Animal Health news release